Chilton Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year Award
Recognition for Community Outreach & Engagement

The Chilton Citizen of the Year Award was created in 1949 to recognize members of our community who go “above and beyond” in service to the Chilton community. Candidates are nominated for this annual honor on the basis of their volunteer efforts and personal involvement in the Chilton community. The Chilton Chamber of Commerce honors a new recipient annually at a social in March, with all members of the community invited.

Nominations are solicited from Chilton community members in January and early February and require the completion of a form detailing the nominee's activities. These must have benefited the citizens of the Chilton area, should focus on volunteer rather than job-related activities, and the nominee must live or work in the Chilton area. The winner is selected by a committee of Chamber members.

Nominations are being accepted for Chilton’s 2023 Distinguished Citizen of the Year! The deadline is Friday, February 16, 2024.

The Chilton Chamber of Commerce will honor the recipient at the Chilton Eagles Club on Wednesday, March 20th. A social will be held from 6:00-7:00 pm, with the award presentation and program to follow at 7:00 pm. Tickets are $15.00 per person and can be purchased at Vern’s Cheese, BMO Bank, or The State Bank of Chilton.

Nominations should be sent to the Chilton Chamber of Commerce, PO Box 122 Chilton, WI 53014. The nomination form needs to be filled out and submitted - see button below to download and print. The form requires that you provide detail about the nominee's service to the Chilton community. Nominations must be typed or written neatly. Nomination forms must be received by Friday, February 16, 2024.

Nominations submitted in prior years must be resubmitted on the new form. The achievements of the individual being nominated must have benefited the citizens of the Chilton area, should focus on volunteer related items rather than be job related, and the nominee must live or work in the Chilton area.

The winner will be selected by a committee of chamber members from nominations submitted prior to the deadline. The Chamber board will then vote on the recommendation from the committee. If you have any questions, please call Tammy Pethan, Chamber Secretary, at 418-1650.

Judy Hacker 2022 Chilton Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year

The 2022 Citizen of the Year is
Judy Hacker

Judy Hacker

For many years Judy Hacker and her late husband Byron have been giving of themselves to volunteer help the people around them and the community that they live in.

Some of the events and organizations Judy volunteers with include:

  • American Legion Auxiliary Unit #125 member including President-6 years, parade marcher, meal planner, event organizer. Coordinates with Chilton High School for Badger Girls State representatives.
  • Student Government Days-prepares and serves lunch, teaches youth.
  • Master Gardeners-officer, garden planner and plant doctor.
  • 4H Leader, Teacher, and volunteer.
  • Calumet County Fair Superintendent.
  • Chilton Youth Club volunteer.
  • Farmer’s Market set-up, organize, participate.
  • Sewed tote bags and blankets for the elderly, veterans, and countless others that need them.
  • St. Martin Lutheran Church Altar Guild, Women’s Group, Scripture Reader, Choir, Funeral Committee Lead, Decorating Committee, Landscape Committee, Dinners, Plant Doctor, Fundraisers, etc.
  • Drives friends and family to appointments, nurses them back to health, provides meals for them. Calls and checks in on those who are ill, picks up prescriptions and groceries.

Judy’s nonstop volunteering goes without recognition. Always willing to get involved, help where needed and to do what needs to be done to benefit our community, youth, friends, and family. She is a very dear friend to so many people. Grandma is another title she holds very close to her heart.

Judy and Byron were married for 50 years until his passing in 2022. They have three children: Nathan, Jeff and Marissa (Scott); and six grandchildren: Lauryn, Brandon, Chase, Meadow, Mason, and Cailyn. They owned and operated Westend Creations for more than 20 years. Prior to owning Westend, Judy worked as a nurse for several doctors at clinics in Chilton and Hilbert. While Byron was in the service Judy worked at an off-base hospital in MO.

Byron was very instrumental in the Juvenile program as a social worker for Calumet County for 33 years, changing the lives of youth, with his gentle, yet firm instruction and guidance. Byron was also very involved in the county fair, 4H program, Master Gardeners, Chilton Youth Club, Legion, Farmer’s Market, St. Martin Lutheran Church, and much more.

Judy and Byron worked side by side supporting each other for numerous years. We cannot count the hours Judy and Byron have volunteered to create a better place for all. Always the last person in the kitchen and the last car in the parking lot. Always a smiling face offering a word of wisdom and encouragement, always willing to listen, lend a helping hand and giving out hugs. Never able to say “No”.

Congratulations on being the 2022 Citizen of the Year. Chilton is proud to have a devoted women like you as a part of our community. Byron you are missed every day!

This is the anchor location for Past Honorees. Do Not Delete!

Past Recipients of Citizen of the Year Award

Year Recipient(s)
2022Judy Hacker
2021Lois Geiser
2020Ron & Sandi Kolbe, Luke & Emily Kolbe
2019Kim & Nancy McKeen
2018Jerry Thiel
2017Jerry Mallmann
2016Bud & Barb Wieting
2015Al Steiner
2014Donald Kampfer
2013Richie Loose
2012Paul Meier
2011Terry Friederichs
2010Vern & Edith Knoespel
2009Tom Roberts
2008Paul Hugo
2007John Rodney Ronk
2006Derek McDermott
2005Chuck Schuknecht
2004Al & Cleta Woelfel, Roger & Cheri Kolbe
2003Dr. Joseph J. Schlaefer
2002Rodney Rautman
2001Lila Kilsdonk
2000Clem Casper
1999Sue Seckel
1998Deb Bohn & Carl Siebert
1997Daniel Albedyll
1996Mary Schuler
1995Ruth Ann Thede & Ray Wagner
1994Jerry Schneider
1993Bill Engler, Jr.
1992Flossie J. Edens & Ray Mlada
1991Dave & Cindy Berth
1990Jerome (Jerry) Koenig
1989Greg & Kathy Garton
1988Bill Engler, Sr.
1987Rose M. Wettstein
1986Jim Eisner
1985Alpheus W. Larson & Lorraine L. Larson
1984Betty Koch & Ed. J. Casper
1983Arthur W. Hugo & F. J. Schneider
1982Gail Engler
1981Dick Gilles
1980Barbara Hertel & Louise Sohrweide
1979Mary Knauf
1978Ken Weber & Beulah Griem
1977Roger Nelson
1976Robert Mand
1975Harry Thompson
1974Lester Nelson
1973Dave Casper
1972Hugo Herzog
1971G. G. Bloomer
1970Arthur Horst & Neil Nelson
1969Evelyn McCarty
1968Rev. Roland Ahren, Rev. O.M. Moeschberger & Jack Young
1967Dr. K. R. Humke & Dr. James Knauf
1966J. Ed. Sohrweide
1965Gordon Aebischer
1964Orrin Meyer
1963Royal Klofanda
1962Howard Schucht
1961Mr. & Mrs. Vince Todd
1960Donald E. Bonk & Vincent G. Reinkober
1959Bernice Tesch & Norbert Sturm
1958Arthur B. Connell & John Steenport
1957Mrs. William Stauss
1956Francis J. Flanagan & Rev. William Griffith
1955Judge George Goggins, Dr. Goggins & William J. McHale
1954Carl Hofmeister & Martin Salm
1953John Reinkober & John Schneider
1952Arthur Hipke & William Knauf
1951Irene Flatley & Theodore Christoph
1950 Dr. E. T. Rathert & Dr. N. J. Knauf
1949 Jerome Fox, Judge Arps & Ray Jensen